Motivation: do it for you

So I have been putting off writing this post for a couple of weeks now. It is ironic because it is all about motivation and I have NOT been motivated lately. There are those times in your life when you just feel like you are constantly just go go go, overwhelmed by the world, trying to do whatever you can to stay afloat. That is how I feel right now. Sometimes I feel like I need a break, but I don’t even know how to take a break. I have a massive to-do list at work and then when I come home I have a massive to-do list of things and I keep thinking to myself, is there ever going to be a day where I can just come home and sit? And the truth is….. yes, but you have to make it that way.

So I was originally going to talk all about motivation and how to get yourself going, make sure you’re still active, and trying to keep yourself from getting bored of routine. But I think right now, in the middle of february, there is a better thing to talk about and that is self-care. For me, sometimes I am too motivated. I want to just be doing things all the time, I want to make sure I on my A game all the time, I need to do this, and do that, and make sure I don’t forget this, ooooh and I CAN NOT forgot that. But sometimes it isn’t always about how much you can get done in a day, it is about how happy are you at the end of the day. And sometimes you aren’t happy. There are a lot of days I am not happy. But instead of sulking about it and making worse – which is used to be my tendency – I remember what I need to do to take care of myself. I was told once by a friend that I get so focused on what I want to happen and how I want something to go, that I get so wrapped up in it, I make it worse because I can’t focus on the good, I just focus that it isn’t how I wanted it go. So remember the good, remember what makes you happy, and focus on that.

My friends make me happy. My dog makes me happy. Cooking/baking makes me happy. Dancing in my underwear in my bedroom makes me happy. Organizing my bedroom makes me happy. Doing a face mask and sitting in bed with candles makes me happy. Do those things. And while you’re at it. Remember that you are great.

Today a good friend texted me and sent me some “words of encouragement” that her sister had sent her earlier this week. She said “just remember, keep your head up or the crown will fall off”… So forget motivation and finding reasons to keep it up. You are the reason. So stay motivated for you. Keep it up for you. Do whatever makes you happy. And DON’T get down on yourself. All that negative self talk (which I do a little too often but have banned my friend Roxanne from), none of that shit. All that self-loathing. All the “I can’ts” – nope throw it out. As I am typing, complaining to my friend – she sent me this link: https://thepowerpath.com/monthly-forecast/february-2017-monthly-forecast/ 

This is the month of change. It is hard to push through it, but it is what is best in the end. So do it for you. Change those bad habits. Change those things that drag you down. It may be hard, but you will get through it and you will be a better you. Isn’t that what you want? To do what is best for you? So do it.

Also, since this post go super preachy and shit I am just going to post a ton of pictures of things I was planning on posting anyways! But they have something in common – every picture is something that makes me happy.

img_2065

img_2090

img_2152

 

img_2147

 

Oh and if all else fails, get this book that I have been LOVING so much lately (enough that I sent it to two friends this week as a gift). Tiny Beautiful Things by Cheryl Strayed. Or dance it out to a classic like this …..

 

xx Mirs

One thought on “Motivation: do it for you

Leave a Reply

